This is CrossCut Version 1.1.0

When you first run CrossCut, it will request that you select a comm port for
communicating with the Tattletale Model 8. This selection will be stored in
the Windows Registry so it will be available the next time you start
CrossCut.

The following items are also saved in the Registry each time you exit CrossCut
and are retrieved the next time you start CrossCut:

* Comm Port setting - Port number, baud rate, data bits, parity, stop bits.
* Whether the port should be released when CrossCut is inactive or not.
* Whether a Line Feed should be automatically sent after sending a Carriage Return or not.
* The last directory used to load an S-Record.
* The name of the last S-Record file that was loaded.
* The last directory used to load a new monitor.
* The name of the last monitor loaded as a new monitor.
* Main window settings - position, size and whether it was maximized or not.
* Whether the terminal should automatically append a Line Feed to a Carriage Return or not.
* Whether the terminal should automatically insert a Carriage Return before a Line Feed not.
* The name and directory of the Capture File.
* The name and directory of the file to save selected text.
* Whether new capture text should:
  1) overwrite an existing file or,
  2) append to an existing file or,
  3) create a new file appending a number suffix to make it unique.
* Whether the terminal should wrap text or not.
* The font and style being used by the terminal.
* The Tab width being used by the terminal.
* The load rate (baud rate) used for the last S-Record load or monitor update.

Change for Version 1.1.0
- There were sometimes problems when the font was changed to include a different
  color or style (bold or italic). This has been corrected in this version.

Change for Version 1.0.8
- Previously, Windows was intercepting some Control-Key combinations which could,
  perhaps, be useful. You could not use Control-@ to send a byte of zero,
  Control-^ to send a byte of 30 or Control-_ to send a byte of 31. You can now
  send every possible ASCII code from 0 to 126 as a single byte to your program.
  The values 32 through 126 are simply the character values starting with
  Space and ending with Tilde '~'. The low numbers from 0 through 31 are available
  as Control-Key combinations:
  
  Key     Value      Key     Value      Key     Value      Key    Value
  Ctrl-@    0        Ctrl-H    8        Ctrl-P   16       Ctrl-X   24
  Ctrl-A    1        Ctrl-I    9        Ctrl-Q   17       Ctrl-Y   25
  Ctrl-B    2        Ctrl-J   10        Ctrl-R   18       Ctrl-Z   26
  Ctrl-C    3        Ctrl-K   11        Ctrl-S   19       Ctrl-[   27
  Ctrl-D    4        Ctrl-L   12        Ctrl-T   20       Ctrl-\   28
  Ctrl-E    5        Ctrl-M   13        Ctrl-U   21       Ctrl-]   29
  Ctrl-F    6        Ctrl-N   14        Ctrl-V   22       Ctrl-^   30
  Ctrl-G    7        Ctrl-O   15        Ctrl-W   23       Ctrl-_   31


Change for Version 1.0.7
- A logging feature was added to help track down serial port problems. To enable
  logging, hold the Shift and Control keys on the keyboard while selecting the
  "Help" menu. A new item titled "Log serial data" will appear in the menu. Select
  this item to turn on logging. A check-mark will show to signal that logging is
  on. To turn off logging, hold the Shift and Control keys on the keyboard while
  selecting the "Help" menu and select "Log serial data" again. The check-mark will
  disappear. When logging is first enabled, a text file named "CrossCut.log" will
  be created in the folder where the TFToolsv2.exe exists. This log file is never
  deleted or erased by TFToolsv2. You may remove it or rename it if you wish. Each
  time logging is enabled, a header with the current date and time is appended to
  the file. All items from the "Tattletale" menu relating to the serial port, like
  Run, Off-load, Erase datafile and Copy program to Flash, put a message in the log
  file when they start and end. Also, a label appears on data lines showing whether
  the data was output or input. Any data that is not print-able is displayed as hex
  between [ and ] brackets.


Changes for Version 1.0.6
- If the Capture file is empty when it is closed, the file is deleted.

- If you attempt to use the "Save selection..." item to save the currently selected
  text to an existing file, you will be prompted to verify that you want to
  overwrite the previous file.

- Some customers with really fast computers were finding that CrossCut (and the
  Model 8) seemed to hang after sending a RHX or AHX program file. This was due
  to some complicated handshaking that goes on between CrossCut and the TOM8 on
  the Model 8 to switch the transfer speed up to 57600 baud during the transfer.
  Very fast desk-top computers could send the final handshake to TOM8 before it
  was ready. This version of CrossCut waits for a second before sending this
  final handshake signal.

- There is a new option ("S-record load rate..." under the Tattletale menu) to
  allow the baud rate of loading programs to be one of five baud rates: 9600,
  19200, 38400, 57600 or 115200 baud. In previous versions of CrossCut, the
  baud rate for loading a program was forced to 57600 baud. After the program
  is loaded, the previous baud rate is restored. The selected baud rate is also
  used when updating the Monitor. The last load rate is saved in the Windows
  Registry when you exit CrossCut.

- The "Update monitor..." now keeps a separate record of the last monitor file
  used and starts in the same directory and offers the same file name as the
  starting point when selecting a Monitor to load.

- The CrossCut.hlp help file was updated to show the new "S-record load rate..."
  item under the Tattletale menu.

Changes for Version 1.0.5
- Added a new "Save selection" item in the File menu. If any text is selected, this item
  will be enabled. A suggested file name will be offered that is unique (there will not
  already be a file by that name in that directory) but its location and name can be changed
  if you want. You can overwrite an existing file without a warning so be careful in renaming
  the suggested file.
  
- Added a "New file with unique number suffix" option in the Capture Setup Dialog. In this
  case, each time Capture is enabled (with the Alt-Z shortcut or the "File | Capture" menu
  selection), a new file is created to receive the captured text and this file will be
  guaranteed to not already exist in the directory you have chosen. It won't let you
  overwrite an existing file. The file name accepting the captured text will be displayed in
  the right-most panel of the Status Bar, as usual.

- Changed the shortcut to exit the CrossCut application. Now, hold the Alternate
  key while hitting the 'Q' key - abbreviated as "Alt-Q" in the File menu. Previously,
  we used Alt-X but this was also used to toggle Hex mode in the Terminal.

Change for Version 1.0.4
- An annoying feature in the terminal window (when run under Windows XP and
  perhaps Windows 2000) was removed. If you typed Ctrl-R (to start a TxBASIC
  program when the 'TxB#' prompt is showing) in the terminal window, all text
  would be formatted as right-justified. Other key combinations caused problems
  too (for instance, hitting Ctrl-A would select all text in the window). This
  was caused by our use of the Windows Rich Edit control as the text display for
  our terminal. Microsoft added new default behavior to the Rich Edit control in
  the latest versions of Windows and it was difficult to get around it until now.

Changes for Version 1.0.3
- A setting was changed in the terminal that allows it to update even if it doesn't
  have the focus.

- In some circumstances, the cursor in the terminal window would flash to the
  top of the screen and back down to the current location for each character that
  was received. This has been corrected.

- A bug was fixed that prevented the Load S-Record command from working with PicoDOS
  from Persistor Instruments, Inc.

Version 1.0.2 was not released

Changes for Version 1.0.1
- The application checks if there is already an instance of this application running. If
  it is, the second instance passes any command-line arguments to the first instance and
  then terminates. This now works correctly under Windows XP in addition to these other
  Windows versions: 95, 98, Me, NT and 2000.
  
- When attempting to load an S-Record to the Model 8, this version now verifies that
  the file name extension is AHX or RHX.
